Tag Archives: Centro studi americani

5th ISUFitaly International Conference | Rome, 19-22 February 2020


Palazzo Mattei di Giove. via Michelangelo Caetani, 32,  Roma

The fifth Isufitaly Conference will focus on the notion of the substratum in its various aspects. The typological one, as a set of rules inherited from the built landscape that allow reading and conscious transformation. The physical aspect of the archaeological layer, which in many ancient cities has determined the shape of the current settlements. The intangible aspect of the heritage of projects, experiences, and researches that constitute the working legacy on which current research can be based.

The notion of the substratum is, therefore, more than a specific issue, a way of seeing the built reality useful to the contemporary project. Furthermore, the other theme, which is complementary to the first, is that of urban regeneration. It is a topic extensively investigated by urban research which, in this context, could be reconsidered in a different and new way.

In continuity with the previous Isufitaly meetings, the theme of the conference proposes a debate on the topics of the urban form transformation at different scales, in the light of our cultural heritage understood as a design tool.

The conference will take place at Palazzo Mattei di Giove, built on the ancient remains of the Teatrum Balbi, in one of the Rome areas where the relationship between the present city and the ancient substratum is more evident, even in its contradictions (the Porticus Octaviae, the Teatrum Marcelli, the archaeological area of Largo Argentina).


Giuseppe Strappa (Sapienza, University of Rome); Paolo Carlotti (Sapienza, University of Rome); Matteo Ieva (Polytechnic University of Bari).


Michael Barke; Carlo Bianchini; Alessandro Camiz; Renato Capozzi; Alessandra Capuano; Paolo Carlotti; Orazio Carpenzano; Giancarlo Cataldi; Carlos Coelho; Vicente Colomer; Anna Irene Del Monaco; Wowo Ding; Francois Dufaux; Daniela Esposito; Loredana Ficarelli; Luigi Franciosini; Pierre Gauthier; Małgorzata Hanzl; Matteo Ieva; Hidenobu Jinnai; Anna Agata Kantarek; Nadia Karalambous; Kayvan Karimi; Aise Sema Kubat; Irina Kukina; Pierre Larochelle; Teresa Marat Mendes; Marco Maretto; Nicola Marzot; Carlo Moccia; Wendy McClure; Gianpiero Moretti; Giulia Annalinda Neglia; Hans Neis; Dina Nencini; Vitor Oliveira; Attilio Petruccioli; Carlo Quintelli; Ivor Samuels; Giuseppe Strappa; Fabrizio Toppetti; Tolga Ünlü; Anne Vernez Moudon; Federica Visconti; Jeremy Whitehand; Michele Zampilli.


Anna Rita Amato; Antonio Camporeale; Nicola Scardigno.


Anna Rita Amato; Francesca Delia De Rosa; Alessandra Pusceddu.